Felienne Hermans receives Dutch Prize for ICT Research 2021

The Dutch Prize for ICT research 2021 goes to Dr. Felienne Hermans. The PERL group leader at Leiden Institute  of Advanced Computer Science (LIACS), Leiden University, receives the prize for her research into making computer science and programming accessible to a wide audience, as well as for her pioneering role in establishing a new direction within Dutch ICT research and education. Attached to the prize is a cash prize of € 50,000, which may be freely used by the winner to strengthen her research.

Six candidates were nominated for the ICT Prize 2021. The jury was impressed by the quality and diverse nature of the entries. From the candidates the jury, consisting of Prof. Dr. J.C.M. (Jos) Baeten (Center for Mathematics and Computer Science), Prof. Dr. B.P.F. (Bart) Jacobs (Radboud University Nijmegen) and Prof. Dr. R.L. (Inald) Lagendijk (Delft University of Technology), selected Hermans as a worthy recipient of the Dutch ICT Research Prize 2020. The jury praises Hermans for her efforts to make programming and programming languages more accessible to children, resulting in the programming language Hedy.  Hermans enjoys much national and international recognition with her work.

The prestigious Dutch Prize for ICT research is awarded annually to a scientific researcher, maximum 15 years after their PhD (at the time of the decision), who has carried out innovative research or is responsible for a scientific breakthrough in ICT. The prize is made available by the ICT research platform Netherlands (IPN) in cooperation with NWO through the Royal Dutch Science Society (Koninklijke Hollandse Maatschappij der Wetenschappen). In addition to the aforementioned prize money that will be made available to the winner, Hermans will, together with NWO, record a video explaining the award-winning work and its importance to the general public.

During ICT.OPEN 2021, which takes place on 10 and 11 February 2021, Hermans will receive the Dutch Prize for ICT research.

Previous winners of the Dutch Prize for ICT Research are:

  • Pablo Cesar – Center for Mathematics and Computer Science (CWI)/TU Delft (2020)
  • Dr. Elmar Eisemann – Delft Technical University (2019)
  • dr. Joost Batenburg – CWI / Leiden University (2018)
  • Peter Schwabe – Radboud University Nijmegen (2017)
  • dr. Alexandru Iosup – Delft University of Technology / Free University of Amsterdam (2016)
  • Birna van Riemsdijk – Delft University of Technology (2015)
  • dr. Marieke Huisman – Twente University (2013)
  • Cees Snoek – University of Amsterdam (2012)
  • dr. Bettina Speckmann – Eindhoven Technical University (2011)

About KHMW

The Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities (Koninklijke Hollandse Maatschappij der Wetenschappen, KHMW) was founded in 1752 to promote science and to link science and society. It does this by holding competitions, awarding prizes for outstanding scientific achievements, and organising lectures and scientific conferences. The KHMW has been located in the Hodshon Huis in Haarlem since 1841.

About NWO

The Dutch Research Council (NWO) is the country’s independent science funding body, tasked with promoting excellence in Dutch scientific research through national competition. NWO awards over €500 million of funding every year for top-level research and researchers, innovative instruments and equipment, and institutes at which this research is carried out. NWO currently funds the research of over 5300 talented scientists at universities and other institutes. Selection is performed by independent experts using peer review. NWO also promotes the transfer of knowledge to society and the business world.


NWO Domain Science (ENW): Joep van Wijk, policy officer, +31-(0)70-3494459, j.vanwijk@nwo.nl.