Currently, our society is digitalising at a fast pace. IPN unites scientists in the academic ICT field and acts as the authority when it comes to questions regarding future demands and possibilities of ICT science and how to prioritise research in this field.

IPN promotes academic research and education in the ICT field by building and maintaining a national community, and by developing policy to advance the field. The platform actively enhances diversity in ICT by stimulating the participation of women and minorities. IPN advocates the importance of ICT for our current society.

Mission

IPN unites, strengthens and advocates academic research and education on ICT in The Netherlands, to help realise high-quality digitalisation agendas that enable society to face the ICT challenges of today and tomorrow.

Board

The board of IPN is appointed for a period of three years. The current board members are:

Maarten van Steen, University of Twente – m.r.vansteen@utwente.nl (chairperson). The portfolio responsibilities of Maarten van Steen include

  • Communication
  • Contacts with NWO
  • Special members
  • ICT.OPEN

Patricia Lago, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam – p.lago@vu.nl. Patricia Lago is responsible for

  • Contacts with industry

John-Jules Meyer, Utrecht University – j.j.c.meyer@uu.nl. The portfolio responsibilities of John-Jules Meyer are comprised of

  • Education
  • Research schools

A variety of workgroups consisting of and chaired by IPN members carries out the activities related to the different topics. See more information about the workgroups.

Organisation

Download the Articles of association (PDF in Dutch)

List of members and their representatives

IPN consists of members and extraordinary members. Members are the ICT-science organisational units at Dutch academic institutions. The list is completed with representatives of NWO. Extraordinary members represent additional organisations active in the ICT field, not necessarily involved in research, which want to stay involved and are willing to develop joint activities.

University of Amsterdam
Alfons Hoekstra (A.G.Hoekstra@uva.nl)
Marcel Worring (M.Worring@uva.nl)

Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam:
Frank van Harmelen (frank.van.harmelen@cs.vu.nl)
Annette ten Teije (annette@cs.vu.nl)

Leiden University:
Harry Wijshoff (h.a.g.wijshoff@liacs.leidenuniv.nl)
Aske Plaat (a.plaat@liacs.leidenuniv.nl)

Delft University of Technology:
Dick Epema (d.h.j.epema@tudelft.nl)
Anna Vilanova (A.Vilanova@tudelft.nl)

Tilburg University:
Eric Postma (eopostma@tilburguniversity.edu)
Hans Weigand (H.Weigand@uvt.nl)

Eindhoven University of Technology:
Johan Lukkien (j.j.lukkien@tue.nl)
Bettina Speckmann (b.speckmann@tue.nl)

Utrecht University:
Johan Jeuring (J.T.Jeuring@uu.nl)
Slinger Jansen (slinger.jansen@uu.nl)

Radboud University:
Lejla Batina (Lejla@cs.ru.nl)
Herman Geuvers (Herman@cs.ru.nl)

University of Twente:
Nirvana Meratnia (n.meratnia@utwente.nl)
Jacob van de Pol (j.c.vandepol@utwente.nl)

University of Groningen:
Jos Roerdink (j.b.t.m.roerdink@rug.nl)
Rineke Verbrugge (L.C.Verbrugge@rug.nl)

Maastricht University:
Gerhard Weiss (gerhard.weiss@maastrichtuniversity.nl)
Mark Winands (m.winands@maastrichtuniversity.nl)

CWI:
Lynda Hardman (Lynda.Hardman@cwi.nl)
Jos Baeten (Jos.Baeten@cwi.nl)

Wageningen University and Research Centre:
Bedir Tekinerdogan (bedir.tekinerdogan@wur.nl)

Open University:
Marko van Eekelen (Marko.vanEekelen@ou.nl)
Tanja Vos (tanja.vos@ou.nl)

NWO:
Paul Blank (p.blank@nwo.nl)
Femke Stephan (f.stephan@nwo.nl)
Yvette Tuin (y.tuin@nwo.nl)

List of extraordinary members

Platform Wiskunde Nederland (PWN):
PWN represents the Dutch mathematics community and aims to strengthen the financial, administrative, scientific and outreach position of mathematics in the Netherlands.
Sjoerd Verduyn Lunel (s.m.verduynlunel@uu.nl)

Data Science Platform Nederland (DSPN):
DSPN is the national platform for ICT research within Data Science. The platform unites all Dutch academic institutions where Data Science is carried out from a computer science perspective.
Geert-Jan Houben (g.j.p.m.houben@tudelft.nl)

Dutch Techcentre for Life Sciences (DTL):
DTL is a public-private partnership of more than 50 Dutch life science organisations which enables professionals in the broad field of life sciences to jointly develop an interconnected research infrastructure.
Marcel Reinders  (m.j.t.reinders@tudelft.nl)

TNO:
TNO was founded by law in 1932 to enable business and government to apply knowledge. The organisation connects people and knowledge to create innovations that boost the sustainable competitive strength of industry and well-being of society.
Henk-Jan Vink (henk-jan.vink@tno.nl)
Erik Peeters (erik.peeters@tno.nl)

SURF:
SURF is the collaborative ICT organisation for Dutch education and research. SURF offers students, lecturers and scientists in the Netherlands access to the best possible internet and ICT facilities.
Erik Fledderus (erik.fledderus@surf.nl)

Netherlands e-Science Center (NLeSC):
NLeSC is the Dutch national hub for the development and application of domain overarching software and methods for the scientific community.
Wilco Hazeleger (w.hazeleger@esciencecenter.nl)

IPA:
The Institute for Programming research and Algorithmics (IPA) is a KNAW recognised Dutch Research School with the principal goal to educate researchers and advance academic research in the field of programming research and algorithmics.
Mark van den Brand (M.G.J.v.d.Brand@tue.nl)

SIKS:
The Netherlands Research School for Information and Knowledge Systems (SIKS) is a KNAW recognized Dutch Research School with the aim to educate researchers and advance academic research in the field of information and knowledge systems.
Arno Siebes (A.P.J.M.Siebes@uu.nl)

ASCI:
The Advanced School for Computing and Imaging is a KNAW recognized Dutch Research School with the aim to educate researchers and advance academic research in the field of computer systems and imaging systems.
Henri Bal (h.e.bal@vu.nl)

VERSEN:
VERSEN is the Dutch National Association for Software Engineering, which brings together researchers, educators and practitioners in the field of software engineering in The Netherlands.
Marieke Huisman (M.Huisman@utwente.nl)

SIGAI:
SIGAI is the Dutch AI community which is part of the BNVKI, which stands for “BeNeLux Vereniging voor Kunstmatige Intelligentie”. The aim of the BNVKI is to stimulate research on, and the application and education of Artificial Intelligence (AI), as well as the dissemination of knowledge about AI.
Koen Hindriks (k.v.hindriks@tudelft.nl)
Tibor Bosse (t.bosse@vu.nl)

ICT-Next Generation:
ICT-Next Generation is a network of assistant and associate professors exchanging experiences and ideas, defining common interests, working on common roadmaps on ICT research and education in The Netherlands, and jointly influencing the national and international ICT agenda. The importance of creating these multidisciplinary liaisons lies in the conviction that in order to keep making impact, also in the decades to come, the field has to know how to find each other and actively work together
Cynthia Liem (C.C.S.Liem@tudelft.nl)

Cyber Security:
The cyber security special interest group represents all Dutch academic institutions where Cyber Security is carried out from a computer science perspective. The cyber security special interest group has also strong connections to dcypher.
Herbert Bos (herbertb@cs.vu.nl)
Aiko Pras (a.pras@utwente.nl)